Grand Final

2018 Turkish Airlines World Golf Cup Amateur Series Grand Final 


The 2018 TAWGC concluded in spectacular style with the flagship Grand Final, hosted at the Titanic Deluxe Golf Hotel, Belek between Saturday 29th October and Wednesday 31st October.

Qualifiers from the 100 events in 64 countries took to the course to play for the right to be crowned the TAWGC 2018 Champion at the spectacular Titanic Golf Club.

Vilnius’ Edvinas Ruzgas was crowned Champion after the two-round Grand Final at Titanic Golf Club, which was a tightly-contested affair as he won a card playoff with 43 points on day 2 to defeat Mehmet Dingiz of Paris who narrowly missed out on the title. The Lithuanian won with 88 points after carding an incredible 46 points in round one. Yuki Yunai from Tokyo claimed sole possession of third place with 80 points following rounds of 44 and 36 points respectively.

The Gross prize was also won by Ruzgaz to cap off an incredible performance shooting 4 over 148 across the two rounds. This was particularly impressive after overcoming a 3-stroke deficit after round one to Stockholm’s Gustav Schauman who failed to build on a 2 under par 70 on round one with a 79 on round two.

Following a glamourous prize presentation ceremony which included a Q&A session with 4-time European Tour winner Matt Wallace and the European Tour’s very first ‘Mr 59’ Oliver Fisher, 10 competitors got the once in a lifetime opportunity to participate in the Turkish Airlines Open Pro-Am.

As champion, Edvinas Ruzgas played with 24-time winner on the European Tour, Lee Westwood. The gross runner-up Gustav Schauman teed it up with fellow Swede Mikko Korhonen and 3 participants from the ladies category, Moon Sook Shin (Istanbul), Yuki Yunai and Josthna Ara Neela (Dhaka), played with the Spaniard, Pablo Larrazabal. Meanwhile, Ryder Cup star Thorbjorn Oleson competed with Mehmet Zeylan of Istanbul.

For the first time, a TAWGC team also won the Pro-Am competition. Runner up Mehmet Dengiz and Nearest the Pin winner Timothy Roddy (Dublin) played with former Masters Champion Trevor Immelman winning the event with 36 under par ahead of Tommy Fleetwood’s team.

Once again, a memorable week was had by all in celebration of the achibements of all the qualifying event winners. With such a prestigious week, the TAWGC showed once again why it is one of the most exciting amateur golf series In the world.